Uxbridge Historical Centre

Explore the Centre - Museum Buildings

Explore the Centre - Museum Buildings

The Uxbridge Historical Centre's buildings reflect a variety of architectural styles and time periods.

Victoria Corners Lodge Hall (c1856)

The oldest building at the site, the Victoria Corners Lodge Hall sat on the south side of the road just east of Victoria Corners, northeast of Uxbridge. It was moved to the Centre in 1976. The hall is of plank construction with wood siding, corner boards and returned eaves. Three windows protected by wood storm shutters are located on the side elevations. The interior consists of an entry with another small room to the side and a large meeting hall with a raised platform at the rear.

The Victoria Corners Lodge Hall is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.

Gould-Carmody House (late 1850's)

The Gould-Carmody House was built in the Ontario Gothic style and features a centre gable with decorative vergeboard topped by a finial. An open verandah extends across the full width of the house and wraps around alongside the western elevation. Built by Joseph Gould, the first local MPP who had a major influence on the growth and success of Uxbridge, the house remained in the Gould family until 1914 when it was sold to William Carmody. Originally located near the site of the present-day Uxbridge arena, the house was moved to the Centre in 1988.

Fifth Line Church (1870)

This church was erected at Coppins Corners near the intersection of Brock Road (the Fifth line) and Durham Road 21 on land purchased from John and Ann Rusnell. Originally Methodist Episcopalian (M.E.), it joined the United Church in mid-1920.

This pretty, white, board and batten structure has an enclosed entry porch with double doors topped by a lighted transom and decorative crown. Three symmetrically placed windows are located along the side elevations.

The church was closed in 1966 and moved to the Uxbridge Historical Centre on January 31. 1979. It was rededicated on Sunday, May 24, 1981.

An attractive rental venue for weddings and other special events, the Fifth Line Church is designated under the Ontario Heritage Act.

Scott Township Municipal Hall (1860)

The Scott Township Municipal Hall was erected by Anthony Thompson on the northeast corner of Lot 14, Concession 5 in Scott Township and used by township council until the end of 1967. The wood frame building was purchased by Dorothy and Ed Brown and relocated to their farm where it served as a Country Heritage Museum and outfitted with vertical siding. It was moved to the Centre grounds in 1993.

A modest entrance flanked by 9 over 9 window sashes is centred on an end gable wall. The entrance features double doors with lighted transom surrounded by a simple, classical cornice with the sides framed in pilasters.

Stokes-Kydd House (1908)

George Stokes built his brick and concrete block home in the Edwardian style on the grounds where the Uxbridge Secondary School now stands. George Stokes held several prominent positions in the community such as Councilor, Deputy Reeve, Reeve and Treasurer of the Agricultural Society. The house was later sold to George and Nellie Kydd. Nellie Kydd was the first female mayor of Uxbridge in 1963.

A solid building, the house features a gable-on-hip roof with a prominent two-tiered entry porch across the facade. The Stokes-Kydd House was moved to the Centre in 2002 and houses the Centre's offices and gallery shop.

Quaker Hill Public School (1924)

S.S. No. 2 Uxbridge Township was built onsite in 1924 by W. Chapman and H. Barber. Will Chapman was born and raised on Quaker Hill and received his education in the former Quaker Hill School which his father had built in the 1850's.

This original, one-room, brick schoolhouse was last used as a school in 1969 when the school board began busing students elsewhere. The building then sat vacant for several years until it was purchased for the Uxbridge-Scott Historical Society who set-up a museum in the school in 1972.

There have been very few changes made to the school building. Two front doors provide entrance to the building. Once inside, two doors lead from two cloakrooms into the classroom. A small white belfry on the roof houses the school bell. The original slate blackboard and flank of windows along the eastern elevation remain intact. The windows offer a stunning view of the Uxbridge valley and the surrounding area. The school is a popular rental venue and regularly used for educational programs, workshops, meeting space, camps and other activities.

Print Shop

This fully-equipped, reproduction print shop was erected onsite in 1994 to house the historical printing equipment donated to the Centre by Harry Stemp and Bill Keyzers when the Uxbridge Printing Company was sold. The print shop is designed in the 'boomtown' style, a popular building style common in the old west. The use of a decorative false front allows modest buildings to appear more impressive, hides the gable roof behind and provides space for the merchant to erect signage.


The picturesque, octagonal gazebo was donated to the Centre by the Uxbridge-Scott Historical Society in 2003. The gazebo has lighting and an external power source. It is rented throughout the season for weddings, family picnics, and other activities and events.

Sheds and Outbuildings

In addition to the above, the Uxbridge Historical Centre also has several other outbuildings that date from the 1800's to present day.

Hillson Shed

The Hillson Shed dates from the 1800's and was originally located on the northeast corner of Colborne and Victoria Streets in Uxbridge. Also known as a carriage shed or coach house, James Hillson, used the shed for horses, livestock and cars.

The shed was moved to the Centre in 1973. Later it was raised a couple of feet and had large front doors added to accommodate a threshing machine.

Nesbitt Shed

This drive shed was originally located on the farm of Robert and Muriel Nesbitt on the west part of Lot 14, Concession 6, Uxbridge Township. The Nesbitt farm was the filming location of the CBC series Road to Avonlea which ran for 7 years and was shown in 140 countries. The books used as background for the show were written by Lucy Maud Montgomery when she lived in Leaskdale, one of the hamlets of Uxbridge.

Several generations of Nesbitt's lived on this farm where they operated a saw mill. The saw mill was relocated to Black Creek Pioneer Village.

The Nesbitt's donated the shed to the Centre. It was disassembled and rebuilt on the grounds in 1981. Twenty years later the shed was moved to its present location and placed on a concrete foundation.

Long Shed

Built onsite in 1975 this shed is used to store the large artifacts and farm equipment donated to the Centre over the years. Such artifacts include a horse-drawn seed drill, a gasoline pump, a logging sleigh, and a wind powered wooden pump.